Court Services

Historic Courthouse

The Morgan County Courthouse anchors the northeast corner of Hancock and East Jefferson Streets. Built in 1905, this civic landmark was constructed to replace the Old Morgan County Courthouse (circa 1845), once located on the central town square and demolished following a fire.


The current is the third courthouse building since Morgan County was formed in 1807. It was inaugurated in 1907, built from plans submitted by the J.W. Golucke company of Atlanta.

ch rb

Designed in the Beaux Arts style, this structure boasts a prominent corner entrance portico. Colossal Corinthian columns support the large entablature and triangular pediment, which features the seal of the state of Georgia. Corinthian pilasters mark the projecting side bays, and the magnificent square tower is accentuated by the dome's octagonal lantern and four-faced clock.


The Morgan County Courthouse is a contributing resource of the Madison Historic District, It was renovated in 2005 and rededicated in 2007. The building currently houses the District Attorney, Superior, Probate, and Magistrate Courts and a Law Library.