- Sheriff’s Office
- Raffle Application
Effective April 1st, 2023
RAFFLE LAW AND GUIDELINES
Georgia law O.C.G.A. §16-12-22.1 requires any entity performing a raffle to obtain a permit from the Sheriff’s Office of the County in which it is located. The only entities permitted to operate a raffle are nonprofit, tax-exempt churches, schools, civic organizations, or related support groups; nonprofit organizations qualified under §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended; or bona fide nonprofit organizations approved by the Sheriff.
The following are required by the laws of this state in order to conduct a raffle:
1) The Sheriff’s Office may require an annual fee of up to $100.00.
2) Tax-exempt organization must have been in existence for a minimum of 24 months.
3) Determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service certifying applicant is a tax-exempt entity.
4) If the location where the raffle is conducted is leased or rented, provide a copy of the lease or rental agreement.
5) A statement showing any convictions for criminal offenses, other than minor traffic offenses, of each person listed.
6) The license shall expire on December 31st at 12:00 midnight in the year of issuance. You must renew the license to legally conduct annual raffles.
7) Renewal applications MUST BE submitted prior to January 1st of each year.
8) On or before April 15th of each year, every licensed organization shall file with the Morgan County Sheriff’s Office a report disclosing all receipts and expenditures relating to the operation of raffles in the previous year. The report shall be prepared and signed by a certified registered public accountant competent to prepare such a report and shall be deemed a public record subject to public inspection.
9) You may not conduct more than one (1) raffle on any given calendar day.
10) A special license may be issued by the Sheriff to conduct no more than three (3) raffles in the calendar year. The application and license fee and annual report are waived under the special license.
Operating a raffle without the license or failing to meet the requirements of the state statute is a violation of commercial gambling as defined by Georgia Law O.C.G.A. §16.12.22. Any person participating in the operation of a raffle without a valid license similarly commits the offense and is subject to prosecution.
Operating without a license is considered a felony and upon conviction may be punished by incarceration of not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years, or a fine not to exceed $20,000.00, or both.
Any person violating the operational requirements as provided by the statute may be found guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor. A second conviction of such an act would be considered a felony and subject to confinement of not less than one (1) year not more than five (5) years, or a fine not to exceed $10,000.00, or both.
OBTAINING A PERMIT
You may obtain the raffle application form below. You will need to fully complete the application and gather the required information/documents. The application may be brought to the Morgan County Sheriff’s Office in person or mailed to the contact information provided below to the attention of the Raffle Department.
Morgan County Sheriff’s Office
1380 Monticello Road
Madison, Georgia 30650